_GOTOBOTTOM
Pre-Flight Check
Constructive critique of your finished or in-progress photos.
AZUR Nardi 305 trainer, 1/72 scale
goldstandard
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 208 posts
AeroScale: 186 posts
Posted: Friday, July 13, 2007 - 04:16 PM UTC
Hello. After finishing a SPAD XIII I decided to take a breather and build something less complex. I chose this relatively tiny two seat trainer made by AZUR:

The cockpit is a relatively simple affair, just a floor, two seats, two sticks, and two instrument panels. This is my first time using photoetch and resin, and the enhanced detail is notable compared to my previous efforts, SPAD XIII excluded. (Don't worry, I wore a dust mask when sanding down the resin parts.)

I used the Future technique to create a glass effect on the instrument dials, and used white glue to sandwich the acetate film behind them. I might try looking into other glues though because white glue is messy and hard to work with, and not sticky enough to my tastes.

For a limited run kit, AZUR makes really good quality parts. No major fit issues were discovered, just some seams at the wing roots and a minor step on the underside of the nose where the fuselage meets the resin intake.

Any suggestions or comments are always welcome.
TedMamere
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Moselle, France
KitMaker: 5,653 posts
AeroScale: 4,347 posts
Posted: Friday, July 13, 2007 - 06:45 PM UTC
Hi Michael!

Looks very good so far! I like those limited run kits and the originality of their subjects. I have myself a 1/48 scale kit of the same plane and I'm looking forward to see the end result of your efforts.

I noticed you made very nice "in-progress" pictures. Maybe for a forthcoming feature on Aeroscale?

Good luck for the build. Have you decided on a paint scheme yet?

Jean-Luc
goldstandard
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Friday, July 13, 2007 - 07:59 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I noticed you made very nice "in-progress" pictures. Maybe for a forthcoming feature on Aeroscale?