_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Advice for an absolute beginner.
TylerFerretLord
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 6 posts
AeroScale: 1 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 20, 2007 - 12:42 PM UTC
I only recently started this hobby, and as I'm sure you are all expecting, my first model turned out... Bad. But I still love it, and It's going on my shelf, so I can bask in it's terrible glory.

So, I'm pretty sure I did just about everything wrong.

I could use any advice you can give me, however minor it may be. A few questions I have are:

ANy suggestions for an easy model?
Do I need to prime?
Acrylics or enamels? (I already bought a bunch of enamels, so I hope it's the latter. )
SHould I paint while parts are still on the sprues?
I'm pretty sure I wasn't supposed to paint out of the pots, is this true?

And anything else you think I could use?

My current supplies(in case you wanted to know):

Mr.CEMENT DELUXE (Found this one to be the best of the three I tried out)
Testors cement pen
Testors cement tube(learned the hard way not to us this one. )
Craft knife
Several testors enamel paints, and thinner
Glosscote and dullcote (need the thinner for it, packaging says it need to be thinned)
Several brushes, natural and artificial(artifcials are MUCH easier to clean.)
a couple of sandpaper sheets
Squadron white putty

Thanks for any advice!
Siderius
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 1,747 posts
AeroScale: 1,673 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 20, 2007 - 01:47 PM UTC
Hi there. Thought I'd add my two cents.
As for paints I recommend acrylics. Model Master makes a wide selection of colors, Polly Scale is also a good choice. They are easy to use, easy to clean up, and relatively safe to use as well.