Heller 1/72 Spitfire Mk XVI
AirLedge
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Cork, Ireland
KitMaker: 292 posts
AeroScale: 265 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 22, 2007 - 12:00 AM UTC
Hi All,

This is going to be my second project after a long break from the hobby. I picked up this kit at a local supermarket and liked the look of it. I thought I'd open a thread here so that more experienced modellers might offer some useful tips or advice. I would be extremely grateful as I'm still very new to using an airbrush and techniques such as weathering etc.
I don't have much time these days and I'm not really sure how long this model will take to complete. This doesn't really bother me because I think I'm hooked on modelling now and am in it for the long haul

Here I've assembled the wings and cockpit.

The cockpit painted and glued to the fuselage. I used masking tape for seatbelts and dry-brushed the control panel. I then uses a pencil in an attempt to depict 'wear and tear'. I'm not sure about the results. I also now realise that my choice of interior colour is much lighter than that actually used by the RAF. Oh well, another lesson learned

The completed fuselage section. Quite a narrow cockpit opening so the only real detail visible is the seat and instrument panel.
Well that's about as much as I could get done so far. It'll probably be next week before I finish the airframe and see how much filling and sanding need done. The wing roots already look like they'll need some tender loving care!
Mike
lampie
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - East Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 6,249 posts
AeroScale: 3,270 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 25, 2007 - 10:54 AM UTC
Hi Mike.
Good start
This is the same mould as the Airfix kit and is probably the best MkXVI in 1:72 scale.
Enjoy building it and keep posting the pics.
Nige
Siderius
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 1,747 posts
AeroScale: 1,673 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 25, 2007 - 11:08 AM UTC