_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Yellow Nose and Tail, I messed up!
SPerk15
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 32 posts
AeroScale: 12 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 11, 2007 - 10:41 AM UTC
So I'm airbrushing my first plane and the RLM 76 came out beautifully. I started painting yellow on the nose and it looks awful! Its dark and greenish looking. Questions: Should I paint white first and then paint the yellow? On the Top piece I freaked out and while the paint was still relatively wet I freaked out and started rubbing the paint off with a paper towel. How should I prep this to paint again as the paint wasn't completely removed? On the Second part, I left it as is....should I paint white over the dull yellow and then repaint or strip this? I'm leaning strip once I figure out how because I'm afraid I'll start to lose detail if I put a couple coats of white on top of the dull yellow and then a couple coats of yellow over the white. Wordy, I'm sorry but I would love help!
thehannaman
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 279 posts
AeroScale: 194 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 11, 2007 - 11:46 AM UTC
I've put white down prior to spraying yellow with good success. However, the yellow will sometimes look a bit too brassy (bright/bold.) I've recently started using a light gray or RLM 02 as a base and have been happy with the result. With the grey, you get good coverage without needing sunglasses.
drabslab
_VISITCOMMUNITY
European Union
KitMaker: 2,186 posts
AeroScale: 1,587 posts
Posted: Friday, October 12, 2007 - 02:51 AM UTC
I have had very good success removing paint with a tiny bit of "nail polish remover".