_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Eduard Walfish
Dwaynewilly
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 365 posts
AeroScale: 344 posts
Posted: Monday, October 22, 2007 - 01:28 PM UTC
Well fellow string baggers, I guess it's time to actually contribute. Here is my entry for the Second Annual Early Bird Contest 2007. The kit is the 1/48 scale Eduard Roland C.II or "Walfish" kit number 1116. Per the instructions it was crewed by pilot Lt Seibert and observer Haupt. Pflieger of FA 5b in the fall of 1916 on the Western front. This is a profipack kit so I'll be including as many of the fiddly bits as possible. Please bare with me as this is my first attempt at using these extras so extensively. I will be using only a paint brush with this as well.

JackFlash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 11,669 posts
AeroScale: 11,011 posts
Posted: Monday, October 22, 2007 - 02:45 PM UTC
Looks like a good start! Model On!
CaptainA
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 3,117 posts
AeroScale: 2,270 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 23, 2007 - 06:08 AM UTC
I have two of Eduards Walfisch kits I am anxious to build. Looks like you are off to a great start there.
Dwaynewilly
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
Posted: Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 03:04 PM UTC
The Walfish has been closed up with the bottom wing, tail plane, fin and rudder attached. There was a bit of filling and sanding on the lower wing attachment but other than that, this Eduard kit is a dream to build. The photo etch has been a challenge and time consuming but not as difficult as I had anticipated. The first coats of paint have been added and will be sanded in preparation for the final coat.

My apologies for the slightly blurred images, my camera was focusing more on the backdrop than the model. Better lighting and a plain background should remedy the problem.
Dwaynewilly
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States