_GOTOBOTTOM
Modern (1975-today)
Discuss the modern aircraft age from 1975 thru today.
Moldovan MiG-29 UB
madwolf
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 258 posts
AeroScale: 66 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 06, 2007 - 08:04 AM UTC
I've started building this aircraft a while back as part of a big diorama project (a section of a cold war/soviet style airfield with weathered MiG-29 UB and a MiG-29 Fulcrum 'C' next to it, + ground/maintenance crew). I am a very slow builder (also a beginner as this is my second aircraft build), so don't expect updates too often. BTW, I am building this aircraft also as part of Mark's modern aircraft campaign.

So about the project:

You can see some preliminary build notes as well as background information on the aircraft on my website here. Here is a picture of the subject from my website:

You can see the other mig in the background.

The kit itself is the aged Academy 1/48 german MiG-29 UB. I am also using an old eduard photoetch kit, an FM Models interior kit (with which I had many fitment issues). Thread about it here. It ended up looking not bad at all:

I have to say that the cockpit took a lot of work. I got discouraged a few times and neglected the project for longer periods of time. I lost my first canopy, I bought another kit, then damaged the canopy with superglue (see photoetch inside it?) and then had to sand/polish it and try again. Finally, I decided to glue it together last weekend since I completely got tired of it.

When I thought the cockpit fitment was bad... the kit fitment is even worse. There will be lots of sanding and puttying on this one! I will have to rescribe a lot of lines as well because of all the sanding.

Here are some pictures of the FM models resin cans:

Also, the engine cowls will be another challenge. I don't want to have engine covers as this aircraft didn't seem to have them, so needless to say, sanding inside these things will be a challenge as well: