_GOTOBOTTOM
Pre-Flight Check
Constructive critique of your finished or in-progress photos.
Spitfire Mk I in progress (disaster?)
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 8,581 posts
AeroScale: 4,913 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 16, 2003 - 07:40 PM UTC
I think I might have been working my compressor to hard, it started making screaching noises while I was pre-shading my Corsair. Then I could smell burning, the contact brushes were arcing badly. I finished the pre-shading on my Corsair but like a fool decided that I would just spray the prop and spinner of my Spit (I knew I wasn't going to get the pre-shading done). That's when disaster struck, it just stopped Nothing I could do but strip down my airbrush and clean it best I could and curse I will be stripping down my compressor some time today, if I can, just to see if there is anything obvious. I'm not a maintenance engineer but in the past I've fixed a few things. I'm hoping it's just worn out contact brushes. Even if that's all it is I won't be able to replace them, due to my out of work status.
I will be posting pics of my pre-shaded corsair later, with an update on this, I'm just hoping that I can sort it out
Anyway here's the update on my Spit.
After sprying with Halfords plastic primer (acrylic car paint) there was a previously unseen seam still showing on the nose.