_GOTOBOTTOM
Pre-Flight Check
Constructive critique of your finished or in-progress photos.
Tamiya Beaufighter
_H_Dori
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 295 posts
AeroScale: 276 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 26, 2008 - 12:02 AM UTC
Well I finished this late last year but have only recently got around to taking proper pictures of it. I Must say it was easily the best kit I've ever built and really did just fall together. I built it straight oob with Eduard pre painted seatbelts. It was painted using White Ensign colourcoats although the pictures make some of the fading look a bit white.

I'm still learning the maskol/chipping technique and I also feel that the copper engines look too bright even though I did run a black wash over it.

For my fourth ever model I was pretty chuffed and I even bought a nightfighter version I enjoyed it so much. I hope you guys like it and constructive criticsim is welcomed as it helps me to improve.

Thanks for looking

H

CMOT70
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 629 posts
AeroScale: 539 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 26, 2008 - 01:35 AM UTC
Really nice model! To me the way you have done the panel lines and shading is quite effective, so too the job you did on the exhaust staining. Nice sharp frames to the clear parts as well.

The only thing i'd say is the same thing you mentioned yourself, the exhuasts and exhaust collector rings could well be a bit bright- they sort of draw the eye, they would start off looking nice like that no doubt- but after getting extremely hot and cooling down a few times would maybe look a bit burnt. The way i often do such things is to flat them down with clear flat, then (after drying well) use burnt sienna pastel dust and rub it in. Then you can even rub some off to create highlights.

And yes i agree with your views on the Tamiya kit- i haven't buit it, but it looks like a typical Tamiya product...i need get it out and do it someday.

Andrew

Andrew
TedMamere