_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Spitfire Mk II 1-48 Cockpit & Brush Painting
tsoenen
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 10 posts
AeroScale: 4 posts
Posted: Monday, March 03, 2008 - 03:05 AM UTC
I'm very new to building models and I was wondering if there is a good article to read about painting cockpits. I just got the Revell Spitfire Mk II 1-48. I figure it will be a good one to start with.

Also, I am brush painting all of my models until I determine if I'm dedicated to the hobby enough to get an airbrush. So do y'all have any recommendations as to what paints to use (acylic or enamels)? Should I thin the paint? Are there any brands that people get good results with? My first attempts at brush painting have not turned out too well and am trying not to get discouraged.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
vanize
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,954 posts
AeroScale: 1,163 posts
Posted: Monday, March 03, 2008 - 04:44 AM UTC
as far as painting the completed model, I would actually think about using the Tamiya spray paints (much better than the model master spray paints by and large though th Model Master dull coat is quite good). It will go faster and you'll get a better finish that way. you will have to carefully mask the camo pattern on your spitfire though.

And after 30 years of modeling, I still brush paint my cockpits, wheel wells, and other interior detail.

RE: painting cockpits... hmm. I'll look around a bit for you. seems to me I saw one some time ago, but I can't remember if it was online or in a magazine.

Where in Texas are you? I'm living in Austin (grew up in Houston).
tsoenen
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
Posted: Monday, March 03, 2008 - 05:04 AM UTC
Thanks for the reply. I will try the spray cans for the exterior. I ran a search for cockpit articles on kitmaker and nothing precise came up. I appreciate your help.