_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
naff modelling
lespauljames
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,661 posts
AeroScale: 369 posts
Posted: Friday, March 07, 2008 - 01:09 AM UTC
i have been modelling for 7-10 years, im 18 now, i just cant believe how everybody can get there planes and tanks to look so good when mine still look like they fell out of my backside! i take advice , wash ,dry brush etc but they are still rubbish . can someone please help.
Bigskip
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,487 posts
AeroScale: 575 posts
Posted: Friday, March 07, 2008 - 01:37 AM UTC
Jimmy

Post some piccies and you will get constructive critism.

Andy
HawkeyeV
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wisconsin, United States
KitMaker: 319 posts
AeroScale: 129 posts
Posted: Friday, March 07, 2008 - 01:52 AM UTC
Concentrate on the basics first. Do not worry about washes, after market, painting or anything other than getting the basic construction principles correct. Build a model without any fillers or paint to cover it with. Start with a good kit, such as a Tamiya P-47. It offers good fit and finish straight from the box, so you shouldn't have any problems getting a solid clean build. But if you don't, then you need to look at your errors and understand why they happened. Then you can tackle a lesser quality kit, applying what you've learned but also using more of the fit to finish process to achieve the same level of a build as you experienced with the Tamiya kit.

Here is a naked Jug I built to test my mettle:

Many modelers are under the misconception that if you add more you'll get better results, well that's not true if you don't have the core techniques mastered. I have seen many a model packed full of after market accessories, only to still see the seams and obvious gaps in places they shouldn't be.