_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Help building BF109-E
mpatman
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New South Wales, Australia
KitMaker: 248 posts
AeroScale: 160 posts
Posted: Monday, March 24, 2008 - 04:47 PM UTC
Hi everyone.

I am just starting to build my 4th plane model the Hasegawa BF109-E "Hahn".

I would like to try and do a few minor modifications and would like to turn for your assistance. Firstly I will be building if OOB and was thinking of doing a mid air pose rather than with the landing gear down. I was contemplating trying to cut the ailerons and show the bird in a dive. So has anyone cut the ailerons? Any tips on this as I am only a newbie?

Here are some early progress shots. I have painted the cockpit but is still needs a wash and some scuff marks etc. i have taped the main fuselage and wings to check on the fir an i seem to have a minor gap at the rear of the wing join that i will need to fill.

Moeggo
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wellington, New Zealand
KitMaker: 169 posts
AeroScale: 132 posts
Posted: Monday, March 24, 2008 - 05:49 PM UTC
Mark,

I have never cut the ailerons in a build before, but I have with flaps. I would use a scriber to cut them, as thats what I do with the flaps. The scriber should give you a nice fine cut line. Good Luck!
brandydoguk
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,495 posts
AeroScale: 643 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 25, 2008 - 04:20 AM UTC
Hi Mark,

I would second David's suggestion about using a scriber to cut the ailerons. Have you tested the landing gear to see if it will fit in a closed position? You may need to do some adjustments in that area as well.
vanize
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,954 posts
AeroScale: 1,163 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 25, 2008 - 05:15 AM UTC

Quoted Text