_GOTOBOTTOM
Rotary Wing
Discuss helicopters and other rotary wing aircraft from any era.
Help needed for Christmas build...
Preacher
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 31 posts
AeroScale: 3 posts
Posted: Friday, November 28, 2008 - 03:55 AM UTC
Hi. I have a good friend who is retired army. In the course of his 27-year career, he flew the following aircraft:

UH-1H - Huey
OH58A and C - Kiowa
AH1S - Cobra
UH60A/L - Blackhawk

I would love to build one of these for him for Christmas. Any suggestions on a good kit that fits well and is not too difficult (i am an intermediate modeler at best)?

Thanks in advance!
Ricky
__dmh__
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 33 posts
AeroScale: 32 posts
Posted: Friday, November 28, 2008 - 04:08 AM UTC
A friend of mine built this one, and I don't know if it was a one off (as Revell are usually good?!) but the front of it just didn't fit well at all...

Like I said, could have been a one off but thought I'd say.
grandadjohn
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 33 posts
AeroScale: 27 posts
Posted: Friday, November 28, 2008 - 08:36 AM UTC
Italeri does a UH-1H and an OH-58A in /48th scale, no model of a OH-58C is avialable from my knowledge, Monogram does an AH-1S but is OOP at the moment. Check Academy or Minicraft for the UH-60
cheese
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 106 posts
AeroScale: 45 posts
Posted: Friday, November 28, 2008 - 11:02 AM UTC
Try the Academy brand 1/35 Huey. Academy, in my opinion, usually goes together rather well and their detail is pretty good. It is not a difficult model to put together as well.

Regards,
Mike
Red4
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 4,287 posts
AeroScale: 1,164 posts
Posted: Friday, November 28, 2008 - 03:15 PM UTC