Hosted by Rowan Baylis
early IJN aircraft colors
blaster76
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
AeroScale: 137 posts
Posted: Monday, December 29, 2008 - 09:10 AM UTC
I guess I am primarily a ship builder now. Got Hasegawa's recent 350 scale Akagi and after spending a ton on the kit and all the PE to bring the kit up to snuff, it would be a darn shame to just paint zeros light grey and Kates a medium or dark green.

Zeros the directions day all over grey (MIsubishi) I like Testor's Model Master Enamels. PERIOD !!!! What would be a reasonable color. I was leaning toward light grey.

Kates: Kit says Nakajima green topside and silver underneath. Model masters lists IJN green as a color, but silver underneath just doesn't quite sound right. I probably would have gone light grey, but am now leaning toward aluminium.

Vals, well I'm not using them as I am going for first wave, but will probably assemble them anyway.

If you get a chance to get a look at this kit, It will Floor you. I still need 2 sets of PE and at least 2 or 3 additional sets and some trade arounds to get the 27 Kates I need to get all the stuff I need before I start.
blaster76
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
AeroScale: 137 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 30, 2008 - 11:13 AM UTC