_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Gluing Struts
SuccorPhysh
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 82 posts
AeroScale: 81 posts
Posted: Monday, February 02, 2009 - 09:16 AM UTC
I have a question for the collective brain trust.
I am new to early aircraft and consistently have trouble gluing the struts on them. I usually pre-paint major sub assemblies, i.e. wings, fuselage, and then cobble it all together. The problem I am having is getting the struts to glue into the wing or fuselage location without marring the paint finish.

Here is my normal method, 1) scrape the attachment point clear of paint to get at clear plastic 2) use either Tenax or Testor's plastic glue and touch a small drop to attachment point and end of strut 3) hold all in place with a homemade jig, i.e. cardboard form, until dry.

The problem I have is not with the alignment - I have been lucky in this regard - it is with strength of the join and "globbing" of the attachment point. Too little glue and the strut pulls free - usually when I am struggling to attach the rigging - or too much and the finish and attachment point is ruined with a big gooey glob of glue and melted plastic. I have experimented with CA but it keeps leaving a frosted flake finish and I find the joints just as fragile.

Is there a good method to doing this?

Thanks
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Monday, February 02, 2009 - 02:46 PM UTC