Hosted by Rowan Baylis
FW-190A-8/R2 color recommendation
hkopper
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 529 posts
AeroScale: 340 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 21, 2009 - 02:17 AM UTC
I finally received my first FW-190 and I'm now making sure I have all the paint needed for the kit. I wanted to get recommendations from this community on the right colors for the build (as this is my first attempt at building and painting an aircraft). I usually spray paint using Tamiya's acrylic line.

1. Interior (cockpit)
2. Bottom of the plane (fuselage and wing)
3. Wheel well
4. Engine compartment
5. Internal compartment holding the wing cannons

Thanks in advance!!
VonCuda
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 2,216 posts
AeroScale: 1,080 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 21, 2009 - 02:45 AM UTC
Hermann, I use Tamiya paint as well.....almost always. However, unless you want to spend alot of money on paint and experimenting with mixing colors, put the Tamiya paint away for this one. If you still want to stick with acrylic paints try Model Master acrylics. That is what I used on my Fw190. They aren't my favorite paints but they make the entire line of German RLM colors so you don't have to worry about mixing to get the right shade. The only hang up with them is that you can't use a standard thinner like Tamiya thinner. You have to use a custom mixture (easily done) which is distilled water, a few drops of alcohol, and a drop of dishwashing detergent. Mix up a whole jar and use it whenever you need it.
The only other readily available correct color paints I can buy near my home are Model Master enamels but due to the long drying time I tend to stay away from them.

Hope this helped
Hermon
alpha_tango
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Germany
KitMaker: 5,609 posts
AeroScale: 5,231 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 21, 2009 - 03:28 AM UTC
Hi Hermann