_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft: What If?
For those who like to build hypothetical or alternate history versions of planes.
Advanced Modellers Syndrome (AMS)
taxi508
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Philippines
KitMaker: 3 posts
AeroScale: 2 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 21, 2009 - 10:15 PM UTC
Modellers are relatively a friendly bunch in the Philippines, possibly because we are not that many and are getting advanced in. years. And though we may not know each other, it's easy to be friendly when we meet at the shops.

And though I am a lawyer by profession, it is there that I have been researching this malady of Advanced Modellers Syndrome or AMS. This is normally found in individuals who are seemingly normal and possessed with their proper mental faculties, yet for some inexplicable reason, are morbidly and uncontrollably compelled to acquire any and all hobbykits to their liking despite failing to finish or complete what they may have already on-hand.

These individuals may manifest this syndrome by purchasing an inordinate number of kits, including variants and identical kits. Sometimes it may be seen from purchases consisting of other hobby related items, such as paints or tools.

As a personal testimony to my affliction, the last time I completed a kit must have been sometime in 2007. And yet I have more than 120 to build . As for paints, I'll just say that I gave up when I found out that I had more than 24 different shades of grey.
Hisham
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
KitMaker: 6,856 posts
AeroScale: 77 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 21, 2009 - 10:27 PM UTC
Being the only modeller in Egypt (No other modellers, no hobby shops.. nada), I thought maybe there was something wrong with me! So it's nice to read a post like this and know that there are others like me out there

Hisham
lskspore
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Singapore / 新加坡
KitMaker: 28 posts
AeroScale: 1 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 21, 2009 - 11:00 PM UTC
Personally i believe it is the fear of