_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft: Tips & Techniques
Discussions on specific A/C building techniques.
Help Needed Polishing Canopies
armouredcharmer
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 670 posts
AeroScale: 175 posts
Posted: Friday, July 03, 2009 - 08:01 PM UTC
Hi Gang,
Although i`ve been in our beloved hobby for over thirty years i`ve still to master some basic techniques.One such is how to polish mould seam lines/scratches out of canopies,on this subject i`m a complete novice.
Any and all tips on how to do this would be most welcome as i`ve two Revell 1/32 eagles on the go with hideous seam lines right down the centre of the canopies.
EdgarBrooks
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 397 posts
AeroScale: 384 posts
Posted: Friday, July 03, 2009 - 08:30 PM UTC
First, scrape away the most prominent part of the line, with a straight-edged blade. If you continually run your thumb across it, you'll be able to tell when it's virtually flat. The best material, that I've found, from this point, is Micromesh, packs of which are available in many of the shops which also stock Alclad metallic paints. Certainly, The Aviation Hobby Shop has them, and I'd expect Hannant's to have them, as well.