_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
How do I fix this blister in the resin
PolarBear
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Västra Götaland, Sweden
KitMaker: 820 posts
AeroScale: 629 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 02, 2009 - 09:50 AM UTC
Hi all!
I'm a newbie to resin. When opening my IPMS Austria kit of the Saab J 29 Tunnan, I found this:

Does anybody know how I can fix this!?!?

Cheers // PolarBear
jaypee
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Scotland, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,699 posts
AeroScale: 1,384 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 02, 2009 - 10:32 AM UTC
is it hollow. like a big air bubble was trapped?

Fill it with some liquid CA a little at time perhaps. Just a suggestion. Or contact the manufacturer for a replacement perhaps.
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17,582 posts
AeroScale: 12,795 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 02, 2009 - 10:42 AM UTC
Hi Björn

I'd either do as JP suggests, and carefully fill it with CA - or, cut the bubble away and build up the area with "supafiller" ( a mix of CA and talcum powder). The benefit over straight CA is that it doesn't dry harder than the resin. It sets really quickly and sands beautifully.

All the best

Rowan
EdgarBrooks
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 397 posts
AeroScale: 384 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 02, 2009 - 08:53 PM UTC