_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Masking Canopies
csch
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Buenos Aires, Argentina
KitMaker: 1,941 posts
AeroScale: 1,040 posts
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 04:51 AM UTC
Hi guys:

Argggghhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Masking canopies just a nightmare for me.
Please can somebody tell me what is the best product for this. I use Tamiya Masking Tape or Scotch Magic Tape, but they leave the clear parts with sticked glue that it“s dificult to remove (I use WD40). Does exist a simple method for this task ? I hate it.
brandydoguk
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,495 posts
AeroScale: 643 posts
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 04:58 AM UTC
Hi Csch, I've got a set of fastframes for the canopy of my Tamiya Spitfire. I've never used them before but I've been told they are very good. I was also told that the pieces between the frames on the sheet are ideal for masking the canopy as well as they are already pre cut to fit the canopy and don't leave any residue. It gives two options for painting the canopy.
Martin
slodder
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
AeroScale: 305 posts
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 05:06 AM UTC
I use a liquid mask. Its great because I smear it all over the canopy and then I get a new #11 blade and cut out the frame that will get painted. It's very crisp and easy to do.
You could try rubber cement too.

When I get goo on the canopy I usually get a sharp toothpick and sloooowly scape it away.
m1garand
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,248 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 05:27 AM UTC
This is what I use:

Quoted Text

Mask-It EASY Protects, Then Peels Off Easily

http://www.dxmarket.com/micromark/products/80923.html
csch
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posted: Monday, July 07, 2003 - 05:32 AM UTC

Quoted Text