_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Has the economic crisis affected modelling?
james84
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Roma, Italy
KitMaker: 1,368 posts
AeroScale: 377 posts
Posted: Thursday, November 05, 2009 - 10:50 AM UTC
I am a student of Economics and my thoughts brang me to ask whether modelling industry has been affected by the economic crisis.
Modelling is very expensive sometimes, but passion usually prevails on our budget. But let's "walk in the producers' shoes".
What seems more evident, in my opinion - and you definitely noticed it - is the lack of new (plastic) kits in these recent times.
Even the most prolific brands (Revell, Tamiya, Hasegawa...) seem unable to release something totally new, never seen so far, let's say.
For example, Hasegawa has recently released the Sufa version of the F-16, and followed shortly with the Block 60. Yes, they are new kits, but how much? As far as I know, they are both based on Hasegawa's old twin-seater F-16 mould, with few new parts to represent the conformal tanks, the spine and some smaller features.
Other examples: Revell has issued a new Super Hornet in 1/72, but this seems to be just a scale-down of their 1/48 model. Tamiya F-16 has been proposed in 4 different boxes and the brand reboxed some old kits with some bonus and so on. Same for Hasegawa which often releases different boxes for the same subject.
Only few exceptions: Tamiya's new Spitfire in 1/32 and Zero in 1/48, Eduard's new moulds, Academy F-22 (and th soon-to-be-released Hasegawa) in 1/48 and other few things.
I know that developing a kit costs lots of time and money to any firm - more or less famous - and definitely they decided to postpone new projects for the future, trying to concentrate only on a certain product they try to differentiate. Only the Chinese brands, such as Trumpeter and Hobby Boss, seem to release constantly new products.