_GOTOBOTTOM
Pre-Flight Check
Constructive critique of your finished or in-progress photos.
Tropical 109!.......comments?
airwarrior
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 2,085 posts
AeroScale: 217 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 16, 2003 - 10:05 AM UTC
heres the oob Tamiya 109 e-4/7 trop.well,almost oob,I had to replace the gear well doors with heavily reworked monogram ones.
EDIT:Color corrected? with PhotoShop. KF

please post comments and CC.
Part-timer
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 361 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 16, 2003 - 10:21 AM UTC
Is the orange paint right? Were they really that shade? I'm not saying they weren't, as I'm no Afrikacorps expert, I just haven't seen them quite that orange before.

Also, looks like your gun exhaust stains my need a little extra feathering towards the back of the wing.

Looks like a nice build overall.
airwarrior
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Wednesday, July 16, 2003 - 10:25 AM UTC
I had 1 or two pictures depicting this plane or a plane in the same camo,and this is the closest color I could find,also the light makes it look more orange than it really is.
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17,582 posts
AeroScale: 12,795 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 16, 2003 - 10:42 AM UTC
Hi Dave

Nice looking '109, with some really tight mottling - that's the scary bit for me... did you do it all freehand or try some these new masks?

In the light of Jim's post about the purpose of the RRB and all in the spirit of our "new improved constructive criticism"... just 3 things...

Shouldn't there be a nasty non-PC Swastika on the fin? I know it sometimes got painted over in real life... but, more likely here, the kit manufacturer chickened out of providing one...