_GOTOBOTTOM
Air Campaigns
Want to start or join a group build? This is where to start.
AoA Albatros finally under way...
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17,582 posts
AeroScale: 12,795 posts
Posted: Monday, July 28, 2003 - 05:48 AM UTC
Hi there

Just a couple of pics to prove I have (finally) managed to make a start on the AoA campaign!

Work has been so heavy, I simply haven't time for much modelling. I thought two months would be plenty but, after a delayed start, I'm away for two weeks from tomorrow, so I think I'll have to scrap my plan of entering a Nieuport 17 as well - there simply won't be time.

Anyway, the Albatros cockpit's just about done. I added a few wires and levers from reference pics. I began to wire up the engine untill I realised it would be all but invisible! Don't worry, I got rid of the dust before closing the fuselage!!

This is my first attempt at using oils for a "wood grain" - my big plan was to paint the fuselage exterior and let it dry while I'm away... I might just make it if I'm lucky... :-)

All the best

Rowan
penpen
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Hauts-de-Seine, France
KitMaker: 1,757 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, July 28, 2003 - 06:23 AM UTC
You interior is great ! The wood grain is outstanding !
airwarrior
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 2,085 posts
AeroScale: 217 posts
Posted: Monday, July 28, 2003 - 06:40 AM UTC
awesome rowan,how did you do that woodgrain? thats what I like to see!
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 8,581 posts
AeroScale: 4,913 posts
Posted: Monday, July 28, 2003 - 08:20 AM UTC
:-) Rowan, very realistic wood grain and a very nicely detailed interior and engine
Who makes this model?
Mal
Merlin
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
Posted: Monday, July 28, 2003 - 08:45 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Who makes this model?
Mal

Hi Guys

Thanks for your kind words.