_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Which filler?
jnorman55
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17 posts
AeroScale: 16 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 30, 2010 - 11:18 PM UTC
I'm new to this game, and am keen to find out which is your recommended filler. I have used fine fillers before from hardware stores with poor results. I now have some Milliput but dont know how easy it is to sand. It says it dries rock hard in 3hrs and the whole epoxy thing makes me concerned that I'm never going to get it off the model. What are your views/alternatives? I'm sure we mostly want the same thing ie fills fine cracks, is easy to work with and sands easily.

Thanks,
James
pigsty
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,226 posts
AeroScale: 640 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 30, 2010 - 11:33 PM UTC
It really depends on the gap you're filling and how much work you need to do to that part of the model. Very fine gaps can be filled with glue - polystyrene cement or superglue. Tipp-Ex works too, if you use the stuff with the tricholorethane solvent. All such filling will need repeat applciations, since it shrinks as it dries. Sanding: cement dissolves the plastic so you're just sanding plastic; superglue is very hard, usually harder than the plastic, but sands smoothly; Tipp-Ex can flake, especially if it's thickly applied.

Wider gaps need a filler with more body, for which there's a wealth of choice. I mainly use fine Milliput. It does set rock-hard if you get the proportions right (which is a bit of an art) and it's easy to sand. I'd wait at least six hours, though, not three. Don't worry that it'll stick too tightly - it comes away readily with sanding, but generally stays where you want it to. One-part fillers like Squadron Green Stuff are less wieldy, I find. They expand slightly on leaving the tube, they don't seem to stick so readily, and they won't sand properly at all - it all comes away in flakes.