_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Filter for an Airplane??
Recce_Guy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Manitoba, Canada
KitMaker: 110 posts
AeroScale: 34 posts
Posted: Thursday, April 08, 2010 - 03:04 PM UTC
Hello,

I am new to aircraft modeling and have a burnng question before I start weathering.

On armour models it is quite common to use filters to add weathering and depth. However I have not really seen it on aircraft models. Is it something that is done?

I am wanting to do a filter for a 1/48 Stuka and I am not really sure what colours to use. It will be an eastern front aircraft.

I have seen the dot method done but I have not had a lot of good luck with it. I have also seen where the filter is sprayed on using a very diluted solution of browns, sprayed over the whole model and then a pin wash done to bring out the detail

Anyone have any thoughts or advice on this?

Thanks,

Cam
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 7,772 posts
AeroScale: 3,175 posts
Posted: Thursday, April 08, 2010 - 03:46 PM UTC
Hi Cam,

I think that would make the aircraft appear dusty--fine for armor, but might look odd on a skysteed.

The pin wash along panel lines gives a good effect.
Recce_Guy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Manitoba, Canada
Posted: Thursday, April 08, 2010 - 04:23 PM UTC
Thanks for the reply.

How do you tie camo the colours togther?

Cam
Tarok
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 10,889 posts
AeroScale: 174 posts
Posted: Thursday, April 08, 2010 - 05:48 PM UTC