_GOTOBOTTOM
Modern (1975-today)
Discuss the modern aircraft age from 1975 thru today.
Hasegawa 1/48 TA-4J - RNZAF
robw
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Auckland, New Zealand
KitMaker: 17 posts
AeroScale: 16 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 11, 2010 - 04:21 PM UTC
Hi all

Well I'm a long time lurker, first time poster here. Just signed up for the WNW GB with an SE5a and Pup but as yet I don't have any pics to post. So I thought I'd try a test post with a build I've been working on and off for the last 6 months - a TA-4J Scooter in RAAN colours shortly after it's delivery to the RNZAF. Scooters are a subject I'm a great fan of - mainly because for many years it was the most exciting thing in New Zealand skies - now of course we have Peter Jackson and his flying replicas, Peter Jackson and his full scale Lancasters, Peter Jackson and his 1/32 biplanes... you get the idea...

I apologise to any viewers that may have seen this build over on Britmodeller, but as I said, it's a test post for me....

So here are some pics:

Box cover - ooh nice, shiny...

I won't bore you with sprue and instructions but this official RNZAF shot shows the airframe I'm trying to replicate:

So first the cockpit - nothing new or unusual here if you've built a Hase A-4 - just that there are two cockpits:

And the cockpits after the fuselage is buttoned up:

Wings on:

Only fiddly bit was getting this panel on the underside sorted - remove a piece from the wing to allow for the extended fuslage forward of the intakes:

Then some paint:

I wasn't happy with the colours, so I re-mixed and re-painted:

I tried my hand at making a buddy refueling tank:

But then found one available from Red Roo Models in Oz (excuse the jump forward in the build - here she has some markings on, radome painted, interior of the flaps painted red, etc, etc):

A few more markings:

And another angle:

The only other addition was some resin seats - shown here part-way through painting: