_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
1/24 airfix hurricane
Dezzyno1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Australia
KitMaker: 83 posts
AeroScale: 9 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 14, 2010 - 09:28 PM UTC
Hello fellow modellers

i have just purchased an Airfix 1/24th scale Hawker Hurricane, the first i have ever attempted in this scale, has anyone else built this kit, if so did you have any trouble durin the build ?

Hopefully if all goes ok it will be my first of many 1/24th aircraft

cheers
bilko
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 584 posts
AeroScale: 96 posts
Posted: Thursday, April 15, 2010 - 01:30 AM UTC
Mate

No I have no experience with Airfix 1/24 planes - although I have drooled over them since I was 13 . (Well let's just say for a very long time)

All I can say is that you must have a huge display area if you are planning on doing a few of them. I've just "progressed" to 1/48 bombers - Lancaster, Wellington & Condor - and have absolutely no idea where I will fit them . I have a sneaky plan - but it could lead to the divorce court if I am not careful.

Brian
MichaelSatin
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 3,909 posts
AeroScale: 2,904 posts
Posted: Thursday, April 15, 2010 - 02:14 AM UTC
I think the Hurri was their best 1/24 kit until the Mossie arrived. The landing gear is a bit flimsy, so be careful there, but otherwise just test fit as you go and I think it'll turn out great! I've built a couple and have one in the stash.

My two sheckles worth!

Michael
29Foxtrot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 708 posts
AeroScale: 674 posts
Posted: Thursday, April 15, 2010 - 02:16 AM UTC
I built that kit some years back and there are a few areas that Airfix had left off, which are in the cockpit framing and engine mounting frames.

stonar
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 337 posts