_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
How To Prep Prepainted Photoetch Parts
hogkeeper
_VISITCOMMUNITY
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 37 posts
AeroScale: 36 posts
Posted: Friday, May 28, 2010 - 03:42 AM UTC
I need some more advice from you old heads again. I know when using photoetch its a good idea to wash the parts to remove any oils,etc from the manufacturing process to aid adhesion. This is my first time trying PREPAINTED PE. Do you still need to clean these and if so with what?
Emeritus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Uusimaa, Finland
KitMaker: 2,845 posts
AeroScale: 1,564 posts
Posted: Friday, May 28, 2010 - 07:14 AM UTC
There shouldn't be need for any cleaning before use, at least to my knowledge the PE manufacturing process doesn't involve any oils or such stuff (like mould release agent, etc.). I haven't done any clean-up on prepainted parts and had no problems. Just the usual tools used with PE should be fine.

Giving the prepainted parts a light coat of flat varnish (airbrush is handy) before use is handy, especially if the parts are to be bent, like seat belts for example. As the prepainted finish tends to be fragile, the varnish gives it a degree of protection while handling and bending. A coat of varnish also levels out the shine of the parts. Naturally, you can use different kinds of varnish depending on the parts.

The "first generation" of Eduard's prepainted finish, identified by the flat finish & uniform colors, is sensitive to superglue: I've noticed the paint reliquifying when coming into contact with CA. That's no problem if the superglue is left alone to dry, but handling while fresh smears the finish. A coat of flat varnish prevents this as well.

I don't know if the current style of prepainted finish (slight shine, kind of "pebbly" or pixelated colors on some parts) behaves that way too, since I usually varnish the prepainted parts before use.