_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Best Beginner Kit?
Kilshaw
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 22 posts
AeroScale: 14 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 26, 2010 - 05:54 AM UTC
Hi

I am fairly new to modelling, and have made 4 1/72 plane kits. I want to move to 1/48.

What do you think is the best basic WWI 1/48 kit?

i want a straightforward kit.
jphillips
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 1,066 posts
AeroScale: 214 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 26, 2010 - 08:32 AM UTC
I've never attempted any WW1 planes myself, because I haven't worked up the nerve to try my hand at rigging. But I would imagine one of the monoplanes would make a good first start. There's the Fokker Eindecker and E.V,the Junkers D.I by Eduard, the construction of which appears to be relatively simple. On the other hand, Testors has kits of the Nieuport 17 and Spad XIII in 1/48th scale; while these are biplanes, they're very inexpensive; Scalehobbyist has them for just six dollars apiece, so if you want to give WW1 planes a try, to see if they're for you, these will allow you to do so, without investing much money.
The only rigging I've ever done was on the wing float struts of a 1/48th Grumman Widgeon. I did it with extra thin "music wire" from Ace Hardware.
Good luck with your project.
gajouette
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 365 posts
AeroScale: 356 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 26, 2010 - 08:35 AM UTC
Jake,
How about Eduard's Pfalz D.III or their Fokker D.VIII/E.V.Both are excellent kits and the D.VIII/E.v requires minimal rigging to boot.
Regards,
Gregory Jouette
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 26, 2010 - 01:41 PM UTC