_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Roden 1:32 Fok. Dr.I Inquiries
JackFlash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 11,669 posts
AeroScale: 11,011 posts
Posted: Monday, August 16, 2010 - 05:44 AM UTC
I have to check my many personal messages daily. More and more inquiries are coming my way. Here is one that may benefit newer members.

Quoted Text

JF
I have been doing models since I was 8 years old. I haven’t done anything for about five years for whatever reason. At any rate, I watch this special on the Fokker Dr I the other day and for whatever reason it inspired me to build one. I ordered;
Roden’s 1:32 Dr I,
Eduard PE set,
Scale Aviations landing gear conversion,
another conversion kit from Jadar Model’s
Osprey’s book Fokker Dr I Aces of World War I.

So most of the stuff has arrived and I am waiting on a few other things so the easy part is about done. In thinking and researching as many articles and reviews that I can I have a few questions that hopefully you will be so kind to answer. When you look at all the many good models completed there is three things that seem to bother me.

1. The paint jobs are fabulous but the fabric part of the plane looks like metal. Wouldn’t the fabric part be a little rougher?
2. The cockpit is out lined in leather on the original and it seems that modelers don’t put enough effort into that area.
3. Some of the propellers wood representation shows an extreme wood color differences graduating through the propeller.

I read in one of your comments that cockpit magneto & something else is wrong in the model instructions, as well as, the PE instruction sheet.
I am going to paint Dr.I 425/17 in the April markings which leads me to my final question. I saw one representation of the April markings that let the March markings & plane numbers show through on the April markings. Do you believe that is correct?

Thanks for your contribution to the forum.
Phoenixflyer