_GOTOBOTTOM
Rotary Wing
Discuss helicopters and other rotary wing aircraft from any era.
Rotor help?
Buckeye198
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 596 posts
AeroScale: 197 posts
Posted: Monday, September 06, 2010 - 03:55 PM UTC
I'm pretty new to helicopters, and I was wondering how to attain the effect of sagging rotor blades. You know, how they droop down while the bird is sitting. Is it a matter of heating the plastic, or is it just gentle pressure, or what? How do you guys do it?
mother
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 3,836 posts
AeroScale: 1,036 posts
Posted: Monday, September 06, 2010 - 04:09 PM UTC
It's best to bend the by hand under real warm water (not hot) to get their shape. Then drop them into a cold bowl of water to keep their shape. If you make a mistake by bending them to much then do the same to correct them.

Others have used blow dryers and boiling water, only thing is if you over do it it's ruined...and there’s no coming back other than finding replacements blades.

Happy Modeling,
Joe

BTW: Which helicopter and kit are you making!
Buckeye198
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
Posted: Monday, September 06, 2010 - 04:21 PM UTC
It sounds like the basic idea is low heat (water or air) and gentle and subtle molding. Sounds like a plan! And I am currently building Revell's 1/32 Alouette II with Nord SS.11 anti-tank missiles.
B33rw0lf
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Australia
KitMaker: 50 posts
AeroScale: 20 posts
Posted: Monday, September 06, 2010 - 10:06 PM UTC
Hi Robby