_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
decals silvered...not happy
kemo
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 112 posts
AeroScale: 16 posts
Posted: Monday, November 01, 2010 - 01:08 AM UTC
Im an armor guy moving on to aircraft. Have this great build, came to the decals and some silvering occured. I applied future before decaling, added Microsol silvering occured. Any suggestions why this happened. Not the whole decal, but just portions of it silvered.
eclarson
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 171 posts
AeroScale: 166 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 03:52 AM UTC
From one Eric to another,

I feel your pain. I have a love/hate relationship with decals. When all goes well, it's one of my favorite parts of a project. When things go wrong, there is usually much weeping and gnashing of teeth.

I'm primarily an aircraft builder so have dealt with decals ranging from almost microscopic stencils to great slabs that need to fit around lumps, bumps, and compound curves.

Sometimes, you do everything right and there is still silvering. It's one of those laws of modeling. When it happens to me, it is often because of a slightly rough paint finish or surface detail that the decal just doesn't want to sink into regardless of how much solvent is applied. By the way, not all decals react the same with various solvents. I always test a couple from whatever set I'm using, if possible, with two or three different solvents. My usuals are MicroSet/Sol, AeroSet/Sol or Walther Solvaset.