_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Cutting Edge Aftermarket sets
Gundam-Mecha
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,019 posts
AeroScale: 66 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 06, 2010 - 06:05 AM UTC
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to aircraft modelling, having worked mostly with Tanks and various AFV's in the past. Now though I'm finding that I'm really enjoying working on both modelling subjects equally, and as with my armour I'm always looking for good after market sets to update my kits. The only problem is my knowledge on aircraft AM companies isn't as extensive.

While doing some research I found in an article that the builder recommended a firm called cutting edge, but I can find them online (they dont seem to have a website) and I'm having a hard time sourcing a stockist.

What I am after in particular are external detail sets for the KP 1/48 SU-22 M4.

Aside from crazy bids on ebay i can't find anything, I assume that these kits are out of production, or that in the worst case the company closed down?

alpha_tango
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Germany
KitMaker: 5,609 posts
AeroScale: 5,231 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 06, 2010 - 06:48 AM UTC
Hi Jon

welcome to the dark side ... There is pretty much out there for the OEZ kits (48 scale later Kopro)

Of course there is the cutting edge sets, but as you noted insanely priced nowadays. Ciro Models has some nice sets (to bad they did not come out with the mega super detail set they announced some years ago .. also the site is under construction for some year now ). Of course Eduard and Part have some PE stuff and there is some resin from Aires/Quickboost. Not sure about CMK. Maybe there will be som stuff from ResinArt as they have done some for the other OEZ reboxings.

My "best advice" is (as you are UK based): check Hannants ! (biiig range of products, much of which is also available)

all the best

Steffen