_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Scratchbuilding Early Aviation subjects?
Rotebaron
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Jalisco, Mexico
KitMaker: 182 posts
AeroScale: 179 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 05, 2010 - 03:04 PM UTC
Hello friends, as the name of the threas says, I need some help for techniques about scartch building early Aviation aircraft.

I have the plans for Voisin, Demoiselle, Bleriot, Farman long horn and Deperdusin. That planes are the pioneers in my country and I wish to build them in 1/72 scale.

I got some wheels that can be used, not totally scale shape, but will be fine. I have some experience in balsa wood and foam of depron.

I hope you can share some help.

Cheers.

Al
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Monday, December 06, 2010 - 03:02 AM UTC
Have a look here for some tips and ideas on scratch building

http://www.wwi-n-plastic.com/Book/harry/contents.htm

Lot's of helpful tips on making your parts and adding detail .
Rotebaron
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Jalisco, Mexico
Posted: Monday, December 06, 2010 - 05:17 AM UTC
Thanks Terri. I going to see the link you posted.

Cheers.

Al
robot_
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 719 posts
AeroScale: 691 posts
Posted: Monday, December 06, 2010 - 06:07 AM UTC
Hi Alfredo,

Those will be ambitious types to build in 1/72! One of the problems you face is a material to get scale thicknesses of the timber parts of the aircraft, which still maintaining strength. If they were made from balsa strips, the tension of the rigging will deform the structure.

I'm not sure with those aircraft have there wooden parts with round sections, but if they do, then soldering a framework of brass rod would seem to be a fairly fast and very strong way of doing them. If the timbers have square sections, you may be able to find thin enough square brass rod? I've not see it though...