_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
How do you mix Carmine red out of Tamiya?
Badjong
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Philippines
KitMaker: 10 posts
AeroScale: 9 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 06:59 PM UTC
Hi.

I'm new to the hobby. As for my first project, I'm building a Revell Fokker Dr.I Red Baron Triplane.

I just want to ask how to mix Tamiya acrylics to come up with Carmine red? Tamiya flat red is I think the nearest color but it is too light. What color do you add to get Carmine red?

Thanks and more power!
JackFlash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 11,669 posts
AeroScale: 11,011 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 07:23 PM UTC
For "Indian lake red" try a blood red (insignia red Testors) and add a orange tinted brown (Testors 1166). Try a ratio of 6:2 parts each.
CaptainA
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 3,117 posts
AeroScale: 2,270 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 12:18 AM UTC
Welcome to Aeroscale. May I ask what you are working on?

Sige na.
Kornbeef
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,667 posts
AeroScale: 1,551 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 01:56 AM UTC
Maybe try adding a tiny amount of deep blue, experiment of course first dipping and dabbing.

Welcome to the forum too by the way

Keith
Badjong
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Philippines
Posted: Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 05:40 PM UTC
Thanks Guys for a very warm welcome. I appreciate all the suggestions. I will try them. I'll give some feedbacks on what I've tried. I have learned a lot from you guys from reading previous forums and seeing many fine works makes me more interested to continue.

More Power!
Badjong
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Philippines
Posted: Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 05:44 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Welcome to Aeroscale. May I ask what you are working on?

Sige na.

Thanks Carl,