_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Raaaaaaaaarhg! Insert incoherent rage here.
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 25, 2011 - 02:56 PM UTC
I almost had a moment where my current model flew into the wall. I've been fighting OKB's TU-104 for several years and slowly it's been approaching the finish point. Yet today I fear I've hit the point of no return. Even though I put a coat of Future on the decals, they're shattering into tiny pieces when I soak them. I have the cheatlines mostly down on the port side except for the bits that shattered near the tailplane and the "T" in AEROFLOT. That would have been salvagable excapt that all the other port side decals shattered into bits and it's likely that the starboard side decals will follow them into oblivion.

I don't know what to do. As far as I know there are no aftermaket alternatives, and the kit decals are useless.

I need strong drink or a hug, not necessarily in that order.
Siderius
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 1,747 posts
AeroScale: 1,673 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 25, 2011 - 03:14 PM UTC
Hi Jessica. I understand completely. When you do all that work, constructing, sanding the seams, putting things together with glue, more sanding, priming, then finish coats of paint. Then masking, maybe masking a little beforehand, anyway, then clear gloss coat for preparation for decaling; then the decals fall apart or silver or just don't settle, it's aweful!!!! I've fought with Academy kits for years, although they have finally listened to modelers and have improved their kit decals substantially!