_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Newbie 1/48th B-17 build.
joegrafton
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,209 posts
AeroScale: 5 posts
Posted: Monday, October 10, 2011 - 12:07 PM UTC
Hi,
I've recently become very interested in building the Revell 1/48th B-17G Flying Fortress so I went out & bought one.
I'm very new to the subject of airplane modelling so a few hints & tips would be a great help.
Are there any good after market products available to enhance this kit?
I'd quite like to model the plane in flight so is there a crew available?
Any pitfalls with this kit?
I'd like to paint it in the bare metallic version so any advice on the best paints to use?
Thanks. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Joe.
MrMtnMauler
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 224 posts
AeroScale: 223 posts
Posted: Monday, October 10, 2011 - 01:31 PM UTC
Hi Joe, well my two cents worth kinda depend on whether this is your first kit or not. I'm assuming from your "Newbie' title you might be so may I offer a couple hard learned suggestions. As far as after-market parts, typically they are mulit media (ie resin, photoetched metal or vacuformed polystyrene) and as such are a bit trick to handle. So, you may prefer to make a straight OOB or out of the box build to get your feet under you. Second, bare-metal finishes are one of the toughest to make nice not to mention to just get right. So, you might choose a camo scheme for your kit that is attractive but is not so frustrating that you want to shove a firecracker up the pipes and blow it up. I hope that was a bit helpful and I am looking forward to seeing your build however you choose. Take care and as always, just have fun :-) jim
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Monday, October 10, 2011 - 01:44 PM UTC