_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
antennas
newtothegame
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 588 posts
AeroScale: 468 posts
Posted: Sunday, October 05, 2003 - 03:47 AM UTC
I apologize right off for my ignorance. I am new to community and just returning to the hobby now as an adult with a little more patience and am trying to figure out how to do antennas on WWII models. I saw on the "often read" articles a short one on using 2lb fishing line, but when I look at the incredible pictures of completed models it doesn't look like this technique.

Any help or advice? Thanks.
Tin_Can
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 1,560 posts
AeroScale: 750 posts
Posted: Sunday, October 05, 2003 - 04:36 AM UTC
newtothegame, first of all, welcome to Armorama. You'll find many of us were in your shoes-took a break from the hobby and returned as an adult. You'll get all the help you need here.

Fishing line is one of the items you can use for antennas. I personally like to use invisible thread (monofilament) which can be picked up at any sewing supplies store. I cut lengths longer than I need to make it easier when working with it. I attach the first anchor point with a drop of superglue and hold it in place to dry-doesn't take long. After waiting a few minutes to ensure the first anchor point is set good, I pull the thread tight and use a drop of superglue to attach at the second point. Cutting the thread longer than you need makes stretching and glueing at the second point easier. When the second anchor point is dry, I take a very sharp (ususally new) no. 11 blade and trim off the extra. I then take a black permanent marker and color the thread black. I don't use black thread because it has numerous little 'fuzzies' that hang off and collects dust easier than monofilament. Here's a link to an article I did where I discuss the above procedure: