_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Hasegawa 1/48 Val Build Complete
ebergerud
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 297 posts
AeroScale: 76 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 01, 2012 - 08:31 PM UTC
Hasegawa 1/48 Aichi D3A1 “Val”

OOB with Eduard Express Canopy Mask

Golden Fluid Acrylics, Vallejo Model Color, Gunze metallics

The Kit:

I've been modeling for about two years now. Because I do a sequence of plane/AFV/ship I haven't built very many airplanes considering the time. (May explain why none of them have been anything special.) I counted up everything done in 48 scale and it comes out to be three Eduards, one Zvezda, one Classic Airframe, one Academy and Tamiya's old Ki-84. If you're used to building Eastern European models, imagine the impact of a Hasegawa. It was a little confusing actually. Absolutely everything fit. Although this kit is a little long on the teeth, the part count is 120 and the cockpit pretty detailed. (I saluted the fact by making seatbelts out of fine wire and masking tape. My planes don't go to contests, so I haven't quite seen the wisdom of buying PE sets or resin accessories. But I made seat belts. Nobody will see them, but they're there.) I sat in something like a stupor as a fully assembled cockpit assembly simply popped into the two halves of the fuselage without a whimper. No surgery. Very little sanding. I wasn't sure that I did it right. Everything else was more or less the same. Any problems were do to my tendency to experiment: this time it was using PA as a seem filler. Worked nicely indeed, but as I learned you have to be very careful where the residue ends up. My only quibble is the instructions. They were nicely done but left the one rather complex step of the build – inserting the rear gunner's position – more or less to the imagination.