_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
1/24 Mosquito build by Andy
lordderfel
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 37 posts
AeroScale: 31 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 22, 2012 - 07:24 AM UTC
Hi everyone.
I've never hosted a build log before but thought I'd give it a go. The model in question is the wonderful Airfix 1/24 Mosquito which I have been after since it came out but couldn't warrant over £100 for a plastic kit. However, last week I found this kit on sale in Birmingham for under £85 and it was literally 2 minutes from the school where I work so of course I snatched it up before they sold out.

So here goes my first build log which I hope goes well and I hope is of interest to others. Anyone following this will have to be patient because I don't get the time to work on m odels every day; I am a school teacher (I teach design technology so have access to well equiped workshops) but find evenings often taken up with planning and marking work, but I will do my best to model as often as I can and add to this blog as often as possible.

I begin with a plea and an explanation. Having read other blogs and reviews of this kit I want to do something a bit different and was looking at the alleycat conversions. Has anyone any experience with these and can a specific one be recommended? I was thinking of the Tsetsi version or the Sea Mosquito versions; I think the sea mosquito could be interesting because of the folding wings. What do you all think? Also, I understand the landing gear is very weak so was considering the SAC white metal kits as replacements. Anyone know where I can get them from in the UK? SAC tell me Plastic Fantastic in Oxon but my emails keep being returned as undeliverable so I asume they have ceased trading. I know the Alleycat Sea Mosquito landing gear are wire strengthened so perhaps this is not needed if I go down this route.