_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Need Help with 1:28 scale
dullcote
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
KitMaker: 5 posts
AeroScale: 5 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 14, 2012 - 10:47 PM UTC
Greetings to all,
I'm new to early aviation kits. Not new to the hobby,.am primarily a ship-builder but have dabbled in 1/48 scale ww2 AC.

Recently I had the good fortune to acquire 2 "old" but mint NIB 1/28 scale Bi-planes. A revell Sopwith camel and a Fokker Tri-plane.

I would like to detail build these kits to a high level of accuracy,..well,..more than just an OOB. I have good experience with PE and experience with rigging.

So far I havent been able to find or acquire any aftermarket parts for these two birds. Was told by a friend over at another model site I frequent, that "copper state models" would have large scale products that I was looking for. Much to my dismay it would seem that site no longer exists...or the name has been changed to another and I'm not able to locate it.

Can any of you good folks here recommend a supplier, company,..or web site that would deal in this scale AC?

Many thanks for whatever answers or help you can provide
JackFlash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 11,669 posts
AeroScale: 11,011 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 15, 2012 - 03:34 AM UTC

Here is a bit of fun on the subject of the "1:27" Revell Fokker Dr.I. Better the Devell you know.

Also a member here is "drIace" has build multiple kits of the Fokker Dr.I and has won at IPMS nationals with his works.

In general the Sopwith Camel interplane and cabane struts are too long. It is 1:28.

dullcote
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
Posted: Sunday, July 15, 2012 - 11:22 PM UTC
The article link you postd was a great read! I bookmarked that for sure..
By the silence to my question, I am going to assume there is no "copper state models" and also few if any after market parts such as PE or decals for this scale.