_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Novice Airbrusher
JayceK728
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alabama, United States
KitMaker: 2 posts
AeroScale: 2 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 08:15 AM UTC
I've never used an airbrush before and bought a Badger 150. I hooked it up to the compressor and i'm getting air flow out of the nozzle but for some reason it's not shooting out paint. No idea what's going on, I followed the directions in the manual. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
russamotto
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Utah, United States
KitMaker: 3,389 posts
AeroScale: 375 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 10:46 AM UTC
It could be a blockage in the line. You will probably have to take it apart and check to see that everything is clear. Also, what paint and air pressure are you using? Paint could be too thick.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 7,772 posts
AeroScale: 3,175 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 01:21 PM UTC
I had (have) a 150 since 1975. There were times that it befuddled me and none of my tricks fixed it; it just started working again. However, the main cause of what you describe can be remedied by:

1. Paint too thick -- needs to be consistency of skim milk.

2. Blockage in the tube -- if you have a garden hose with a gun-nozzle, the pipe that you attach the tube to inside the jar top is well matched to the nozzle, and you can blast water through to break out clogs. Also, make sure the little 'breather hole' in the lid is not blocked.

3. You may have to remove the spray head and clean the head and tip, then re-seat the nylon O-ring; I recall that if you really torque down on the spray head assembly too tight, that keeps paint from spraying.

Let us know how things are working.
JayceK728
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alabama, United States
KitMaker: 2 posts
AeroScale: 2 posts