_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Critique my Hellcat, complete AC novice
drdoom1337
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 30 posts
AeroScale: 4 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 10:58 AM UTC
I'm a ship and Gundam modeler. This is only the second plane I've ever built. Being a ship modeler I like planes that are carrier bourne, and I picked up this 1/72 Eduard F6F-3 Hellcat. It's not completely finished yet, and I need to take some better photos.

Here's one of the paint scheme I used. First I primed everything gloss black, then in certain areas I put a bit of Mr Metal Color and Testors Interior Green for paint chipping. I thin did a quick glosscote. For the successive coats I used Mr Color white, Mr Color intermediate blue, and Model Masters Insignia blue (looked dark enough to me). Everything was done freehand.

and one with the decals applied with Mr Mark Setter & Mr Mark Softer.

I still have to paint the prop and add the wheels.
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 12:18 PM UTC
It's looking good so far. I like the patchy fading of the paint shceme. Now your challenge is to fade those freshly painted on decals to match the grunginess of the rest of it
Now you discover why I like to do factory-fresh models...
J8kob_F
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Stockholm, Sweden
KitMaker: 202 posts
AeroScale: 92 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 12:34 PM UTC
It may be a little late for this project but it's well worth a look. The guy is an absolutle god when it comes to fading navy aircraft. I found the method a little tricky but it's well worth the effort.

Here's the article:
http://www.aircraftresourcecenter.com/tnt1/101-200/tnt177-tnt-weathering-Rapasi/00.shtm

And here's one of his builds:
http://www.arcair.com/Gal10/9601-9700/gal9657-PBY-Rapasi/00.shtm