_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Revell-Monogram 1/48 Mosquito IV RCAF Advice
fbustelo
Staff MemberNews Reporter
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 14 posts
AeroScale: 2 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 16, 2013 - 01:53 AM UTC
Hi Folks,

I am an experienced ship modeler and I haven't done an airplane since I was a wee lad but I won the Revell-Monogram 1/48 Mosquito IV RCAF at a modelling contest this past weekend and was hoping to get some recommendations on references for this airplane and aftermarket resin and photoetch parts that could be used to detail this model. I am looking to build the aircraft represented by this kit and not converting it into one of the variants.

So any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Felix Bustelo
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 16, 2013 - 03:04 AM UTC
Sadly the Revellogram Mossie is not the most accurate model out there (if the box you have is indeed the old 45-odd year old Monogram kit and not the relatively new Revell Germany kit), so aftermarket bits made to fit another kit may not fit it. Can you post a picture of the box contents so that we can get an idea of what you're working with?

There are lots of good resin goodies available. Check out Ultracast for more decals and resin than you'll know what to do with.

Most aftermarket is made for the Tamiya Mossies, given that they're widely accepted as the best kits currently available. Having said that, if what you have is the new Revell Germany tooling, the only aftermarket you may want is a set of seat belts or replacement seats with belts attached; the rest of the kit is really excellent already. If you absolutely love photo-etch, Eduard has enough to keep you happy for days.

There are many different references available for the Mossie; it's one of the iconic aircraft of the 1940s, and has been widely covered.
fbustelo