_GOTOBOTTOM
Cold War (1950-1974)
Discuss the aircraft modeling subjects during the Cold War period.
Hosted by Tim Hatton
Mig21 interior Colours
raypalmer
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 1,151 posts
AeroScale: 985 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 16, 2013 - 12:54 PM UTC
The internet is a wasteland. Does anyone out there have a book or something that tells them the interior colour for the wheel bays, and interior colour of the dive brakes?? Specifically for MigF13 variants.

What I've seen seems to indicate pale blue inside the wheel bays, with light grey struts and bright green wheels. The insides of the dive brakes remain a total mystery to me.
Littorio
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4,728 posts
AeroScale: 1,351 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 16, 2013 - 07:11 PM UTC
Ray firstly I'm no expert but looking at the 'Warpaint Mig-21' book the gear bays on a Mig-21F-13 appear to be a greenish grey almost RLM02 with black compressed air bottle (outer) and blue oxygen bottle (inner). The bottles are those ball shaped parts in the kit that fit in the gear bays. It's hard to tell but on some at least the fuselage part of the gear bays are natural metal as well as the inside of the doors. The airbrakes appear to follow the same convention but the book has no photos of them open on an Mig-21F-13, a later Mig-21bis shows that they are the same colour as the underside, that's the bay and inside of the brake.

Just to say I brought the book as I had the same questions as you but I've also got a pile of Mig-21's in the stash.

Hope that helps
drabslab
_VISITCOMMUNITY
European Union
KitMaker: 2,186 posts
AeroScale: 1,587 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 16, 2013 - 07:41 PM UTC
i'm not an expert either but Modelmaster has a color called USSR interior blue/green.

Could be helpfull

Emeritus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Uusimaa, Finland
KitMaker: 2,845 posts
AeroScale: 1,564 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 16, 2013 - 11:21 PM UTC