_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
OK Airplane guys....
jrnelson
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Iowa, United States
KitMaker: 719 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 30, 2003 - 11:34 AM UTC
I have my Tamiya 1/48 FW-190 A3... now what :-)

hehe I'm used to doing tanks, and I build the whole thing - then paint. I'm assuming it won't work the same way with a plane.

Do you guys completely finish the cockpit, then assemble the rest and paint? Or do you paint as you go? I would really like to avoid painting as I go, if I can - I want to assemble as much as possible before painting.

Also - do you guys glue the canopy to the plane then mask and paint or do you mask and paint that seperately?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm new at this and want my FW-190 to look respectable :-)

Later-
Jeff
garrybeebe
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Oregon, United States
KitMaker: 1,969 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 30, 2003 - 11:53 AM UTC
Hi Jeff, I paint the cockpit interior first , then attach the cockpit inside inside the fuslage and continue to build the rest of the craft. after the kit is built , then I mask off all the parts I dont want painted the main color(s) and have at it! Personaly I like to mask and paint the canopy seperate then glue it on with white glue (elmers) . it wont melt or fog the clear plastic. Basicly the same as painting a tank.

HTH,
Garry
bytepilot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Karnataka, India / भारत
KitMaker: 381 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 30, 2003 - 04:08 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I have my Tamiya 1/48 FW-190 A3... now what :-)

hehe I'm used to doing tanks, and I build the whole thing - then paint. I'm assuming it won't work the same way with a plane.

Do you guys completely finish the cockpit, then assemble the rest and paint? Or do you paint as you go? I would really like to avoid painting as I go, if I can - I want to assemble as much as possible before painting.