_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
High Altitude Wind Generation Model Aircraft
3msinclair
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2 posts
AeroScale: 2 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 29, 2013 - 10:59 PM UTC
Hi. I'm a bit new to modelling aircraft so please bear with me if I make some newbie mistakes.

I'm a university student studying Electrical and Mechanical Engineering in the UK. My group project this year is to design and build a high altitude wind generator system as a proof of concept for the idea. (For those who aren't familiar with the area, the general idea is that wind speed is stronger and more consistent high in the atmosphere, but it isn't practical to build wind turbines several 1000m tall. Hence, a different approach is necessary to capture the energy).

Our design concept for the project is as follows:
Build a model aircraft with a tether to ground. (The tether will stop it going too high and transfer power to/from the craft. This means that no battery is necessary on the craft).
The craft will be tested in a wind tunnel. The motors will be necessary for take-off but when the craft is in steady flight it is expected that with a high enough wind speed the craft will glide stationary (similar to a kite) when the motors are switched off.
The supply to the motors will then be switched off and the motors will be allowed to run freely. It is expected that they will then operate as generators (though will probably be quite inefficient).
The power generated will be transported down the tether to supply a small load at ground level. Probably just a light bulb or LED array for visual proof that it is operating.