_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Stripping Enamel Paint off of a Monster
FinneganBojangles
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 60 posts
AeroScale: 56 posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 20, 2013 - 09:16 AM UTC
I have Revell's 1/48 He 111H kit sitting in the closet, and I really want to tackle that monster. The problem is, I bought it when I was maybe 15 years old, and I completed a large portion of it, then didn't touch it for close to ten years.

The end result: horribly glommed-on paint job done by hand, and Grand Canyon-sized seams all over the place. I am an infinitely better modeler now than I was back then, and I would really like to start this beast from scratch. I have soaked miniatures and smaller kits in Castrol Super Cleaner in the past, but I kind of feel like soaking the whole kit is out of the question, because, well, it's enormous. I'd probably require a gallon or more of the stuff to adequately soak it. Are there any possible alternatives? I've heard that one can simply spray on oven cleaner or the Castrol stuff rather than soak it, but I'd rather get some opinions before I try that. I know for a fact that I painted it with enamels, I think I used mostly Humbrol paints when I first did the kit.

Thanks in advance!
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17,582 posts
AeroScale: 12,795 posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 20, 2013 - 09:38 AM UTC
Hi Kevin

When you say you want to start this kit from scratch, do you mean you want to dis-assemble it, or just repaint the exterior?

Oven cleaner will get the enamel paint off - as will soaking in really strong detergent - but soaking will definitely also attack the interior finish. However, oven cleaner can also (but not always) loosen parts. So, depending on how "deep" you want to go, a mix of both methods could be appropriate...

All the best

Rowan
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada