_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Color RAF Invasion Stripes?
ebergerud
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 297 posts
AeroScale: 76 posts
Posted: Sunday, January 19, 2014 - 08:20 AM UTC
Doing a P51MKIII (Brit/Polish P-51B) for the D-day group build at Finescale. I've been researching invasion stripes and have run into thread that contended RAF P51s used olive drab instead of black for initial invasion stripes. I've found two color paintings so done. I guess everything was done in quite a hurry and that would have been a paint they had because RAF Mustangs were painted in the US so they were OD/Gray/Gray. Most sources say black for stripes. Anyone master of this particular factoid? I'd like to do it right and it would change the look of the kit quite a bit.
Eric
jowady
KitMaker: 1,027 posts
AeroScale: 131 posts
Posted: Sunday, January 19, 2014 - 02:47 PM UTC
While I'm not an expert I do wonder why RAF units would have OD on hand since it wasn't a standard RAF colour?
ebergerud
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Monday, January 20, 2014 - 03:31 PM UTC
Point well taken: wouldn't be the first mistake that got onto a post. This is a good board for RAF matters (others too of course) and I thought I'd see. The RAF P51s received their paint job at the factory - hence the OD and US grays that were close enough to RAF. Possible that some extra paint came with them. Probably more likely that they'd repaint with RAF camo - there are some late war line drawings that show it as green.

The photos I look at the more I think it at least possible that some of the RAF aircraft were given dark gray stripes - it's hard to tell on bw photos, but many look pretty light. And the whole thing was done on the fly initially.
jowady
KitMaker: 1,027 posts
AeroScale: 131 posts
Posted: Monday, January 20, 2014 - 04:34 PM UTC