_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
How to Mr. Surfacer?
blaster76
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 8,985 posts
AeroScale: 137 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 21, 2003 - 11:23 AM UTC
Heard that this stuff is super, so bought some. Plan to use it to work those hairline seams like when you put the halves of a fusealage together. What is the best way to apply this? Hypodermic, or brush? How do you clean up after it? Sorry for all the questios, but I am uable to read Japanese. Oh, to limit the posts...I got it from Great Models . It costs less than $4 and the jar gives you a pretty good quantity, so if this stuff works like I've heard, it's the deal of the week
tek2
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 156 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 21, 2003 - 12:04 PM UTC
Hi Blaster
I have some limited experience with this line of products. I have found that the best way of applying this stuff is with a brush. Use a dedicated brush, for this stuff, is tough to clean off. I found that Mr. Thinner is about the only thing that will clean it off your brushes. So invest in some of that. IMHO the 500 is the most useful.
Hope this helps, Happy Modeling, and Holidays!
cfbush2000
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Dakota, United States
KitMaker: 1,796 posts
AeroScale: 69 posts
Posted: Monday, December 22, 2003 - 04:41 AM UTC
I bought some (Both 500 and 1000) from Mission Models reciently. I have only ised it once on a small area, applied with a toothpick. I read somewhere that laquer thinner is best for clean-up. But tek2 has a point about using the Mr Thinner.
I'd be interested in the comments of anyone who has used it too.
Chuck (:-)
propboy44256
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 1,038 posts
AeroScale: 285 posts
Posted: Monday, December 22, 2003 - 04:44 AM UTC
My question is, what is mr surfacer???, I have never heard of it

cfbush2000
_VISITCOMMUNITY