_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Help with airbrush
Sheehan1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 135 posts
AeroScale: 124 posts
Posted: Friday, May 30, 2014 - 01:16 PM UTC
I am new to this hobby but have decided to buy an airbrush. I have read a lot on the web and have learnt of the good brands. Unfortunately my finances dont allow me to pay a lot for my first one. I have read a few positive things about the following which is reasonably priced:
http://www.pecoglobal.com/product_p/rm_180_bulk.htm
I intend to make 1/48th models. I see this model comes with a 0.2 needle. Is that OK or should you be getting a .3 or .5 size
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
AJLaFleche
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 8,074 posts
AeroScale: 328 posts
Posted: Friday, May 30, 2014 - 02:54 PM UTC
I'd be very leery of such an off brand. last year, I found a "deal" at a yard sale, a Badger look alike from Harbor Freight. It had one available needle. All fittings were proprietary to the included compressor. The brush worked well briefly, the compressor died after less than an hour's use over several days and nothing could be used with anything else. When the compressor died, the airbrush was kaput. At least it looks like this one has both a Grex like quick connect and several adaptors for compressors.

If your money is tight, I'd recommend a Paasche H. I bought one in 1982 and it still works fine. With practice, I was able to get tight camo patterns on 1/72 air craft, so 1/48 will be a breeze. Parts are easy to get, maintenance is simple and it's still in the $50 range on Amazon including a couple tips. It's a single action brush but more than adequate as an economical starter. (I have three additional airbrushes from Grex, Paasche and Badger, but use the H for some tasks.)
Sheehan1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
Posted: Friday, May 30, 2014 - 03:42 PM UTC